top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex Geisler

Running Essentials!

I'm not sure why but I never consider myself a "runner", even after a marathon, multiple half marathons and too many 5k's to count! But I have logged enough miles to know what equipment are my non-negotiables! Here's a recap of all my favorite running essentials (and many of these are applicable to exercising in general, not just running!)


SHOES

I can't stress this enough. YOUR SHOES ARE EVERYTHING. If you get NOTHING else from this blog post, hear me on this one. Your shoes literally impact everything! Sore knees? Shoes. Shin splints? Shoes. Hips out of balance? Shoes. Arm pain? Shoes. (You may not believe me on that last one but it's true. I had horrible pain in my right upper arm. Switched to the right shoes and bam! No more pain!). I won't get into the why of shoe importance (gait, stride, etc.). Just trust me on this one.

Personally, I run in Brooks Ravenna. I tend to run on the inside of my feet, and therefore need more support in that area. I trained for my entire half marathon in Brooks Ghosts, which are more cushion and less support. I had all sorts of trouble. Even though they were great shoes, they weren't great shoes for me. Which leads me to the most important part: get your gait evaluated by a running store. They will watch you run and recommend a variety of shoes based on your gait. You may have a neutral stride and can get by with little support and more cushion. Or you may need a lot of support. Or be somewhere in the middle, like me. When I went to get evaluated, they actually recorded me using a tablet and had an app analyze my running. Other stores have trained professionals that can evaluate you just by watching. Like I said, they will recommend shoes in different brands and price points, so you still have some choice. Also, if you're training for long distances, you should get up to a full shoe size larger than your normal size. Your feet swell on long runs and you need the extra space to accommodate that swelling. Your toenails will thank you!

Here are links to the Brooks I have/had. Again though, even though these work for me, that doesn't mean they are the best for you. Also, don't start perusing the Brooks website expecting super cute tennis shoes. That is not the place. They have gotten better recently with more neutral colors, but they definitely aren't super trendy! Function over fashion on this one!



Flip Belt

I invested in one of these pretty quickly after I started my first half training. I needed something to hold my phone, as well as gels and water for my long runs. I love it because it is very streamlined and not super bulky like most running belts. It has slits in the front, back and sides where you slide your items into. It also has a hook for your keys. They also have a zippered model.

I also have the Flip Belt water bottle. It doesn't hold much water but is great for those medium runs. It contours to your body so it fits perfectly in the front or back of your Flip Belt.

*Also available on Amazon!

Socks

Socks are socks, right? WRONG. A good pair of socks will serve you well for a long time. Running/active wear socks have support in them, specifically in the arch and ankle area. I didn't know I needed them until I had them. They're wonderful!


This is the brand I have:

Apparel

Over half my wardrobe is from Old Navy, so it's no surprise that their workout apparel is also my go-to. Leggings, shorts, tops, sports bras...love all of them. It's a little more expensive than it used to be, but if you catch the sales, it's still pretty affordable. I really haven't found anything from there active wear-wise that I haven't liked.


Currently living in these (seriously, I think I have every color/pattern):

And I live in these all fall/winter:

I also like Fabletics, however I despise their shopping model. I first purchased during a Black Friday sale (they sucked me in) and LOVED everything I got. Then, in typical busy mom fashion, I forgot to cancel my next subscription. So I grudgingly picked out $100 worth of items. Again, big fan of the stuff I got. I did end up cancelling just because I don't need workout apparel every month. I'm too cheap. I also hate that if you want to just outright buy something, the price is at least double what it costs if you were a "VIP".

Here are some of my favorite things from Fabletics:

(Great shoes for high intensity/impact workouts, not so great for running)


*I also LOVE their medium impact sports bra but the exact one I have isn't listed on their website anymore. I'm sure their others are just as great!

Earbuds

I CANNOT workout/run without music. I'm not the girl who is content in her thoughts during my run. I need motivation, and to me, that comes from music. For a long time, I had these Bluetooth headphones. Although they are Bluetooth, they do still have a cord connecting the two, which was fine with me. They work great and are a bargain. I never had any issues with them regarding pairing or sound quality and the battery life is top notch.



I did recently buy some true wireless ear buds. They look just like Apple air pods but at a fraction of the cost. I do like them a lot, however, the right bud of my first pair just randomly stopped working after a week. But Target was wonderful and replaced at no charge. One thing I really like about this pair is you can sync the buds together or separate. I like to rock out to 90's when I clean the house, but still need to be able to hear the kids. I like that I can sync just one bud and still jam.



I hope this helps! I know it can be intimidating to start running or exercising, but I promise you, it's a decision you will NEVER regret. You only get one body in this life, make sure you take care of it :)

Make sure you follow me on Instagram! @backroadsandbutterflykisses

109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page