top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex Geisler

Prepping the mom mobile for battle (aka kids)

Updated: Aug 3, 2020

Nothing makes me happier than organization (well maybe my husband and kids). I’m a control freak by nature, and when I need to de-stress or rid my thoughts of some anxiety, organizing is my safe space. Being able to control at least one part of my life relieves so much of my stress. So as you can imagine, I did A LOT of organizing during our recent shelter in place.


One area that needed some organization was my van. In the past, I had a small tote with essentials in it including a blanket, some diapers, flashlight, and a few bottles of water. However, I wanted to take it a step further and add some needed necessities to my van’s storage. Nothing drives me more nuts than being somewhere and not having something I need. And with three active kids, this happens (or happened) A LOT. It never fails we go to a grandparents house for a five minute visit and the kids end up in the pool with their clothes on. Or a trip to the park is cut short due to a broken flip flop. My solution? Invest in a few shoe organizers, some string and lots of necessities.

(Side note: that purple fabric shoved into the back of the car seat? A pair of my daughter's underwear. A hack used by my husband to get her car seat to stop squeaking mid-road trip!)


To mount them, I looped the string between the grommets and then hooked them behind around the van’s headrests. The process of doing this will depend on how your vehicle is set up. I also did a tie at the bottom and middle to keep the organizers flush again the seats and not sag.


Here are the things I put in the organizers. I am probably OVER prepared but again, I HATE not having something when I need it!


  • Sandals for all 3 kids

  • Diapers

  • Swim diapers

  • Hair brush

  • Hair ties

  • Bobby pins

  • Headband

  • Hats

  • Extra outfits for all 3 kids

  • Sweatshirts for all 3 kids

  • Swimming suits for all 3 kids

  • Extra underwear for all 3 kids

  • Socks for all 3 kids

  • Wipes

  • Can coozies (because my husband is high maintenance)

  • Bug spray

  • Sun screen

  • Children’s Tylenol, ibuprofen and benadryl

  • Adult Tylenol, ibuprofen and tums

  • Puke bags

  • Scissors

  • Pens

  • Flashlights

  • Sanitizing wipes

  • Hand sanitizer

  • First aid kit

  • Paper towels

  • Kleenex

  • Bottled water

  • Tampons

  • Snacks

  • Ziploc bags

  • Reflective vest


Also in my van but to the side, I have:

  • Beach towels

  • Booster seat

  • Reusable grocery bags

  • Portable potty seat

  • Blanket


I will obviously switch some of this out for winter and put in more weather appropriate items such as gloves, mittens, hats, etc.


What am I forgetting? What must haves do you make sure are ALWAYS in your vehicle? While my husband makes endless fun of me for everything I have, I’m sure I’m missing something!


75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page